State Law requires that all dogs in the Commonwealth over six (6) months of age be licensed annually. The deadline to license dogs in the Town of Princeton is the last business day of April. For 2023, the last business day falls on Thursday, April 27, 2023. For 2024, the last business day falls on Tuesday, April 30, 2024. Licenses are valid for one calendar year. Dogs less than 6 months of age may be licensed as well if the owner so chooses.
New residents have 30 days to license after the move in date. If your dog is currently licensed in another Massachusetts Town you may transfer that license (with proof) for a fee of $2.00. Please contact the Town Clerk for more information on transfer requirements.
- An up to date rabies vaccination certificate
- Spay/neuter certificate (if applicable)
- License Fee
How to License:
- By mail - Include copies of each of the following veterinarian certificates for each dog listed on this application form:
- Certificate indicating if dog is neutered or spayed (if not specified on rabies certificate)
- Current Rabies vaccination certificate
- Self addressed stamped envelope
- In Person at the Town Clerk's Office
License Fees (per dog)
- Male/Female (intact) - $15.00
- Spayed/Neutered - $10.00
A late fee of $25/dog will be assessed in addition to the license fee after the deadline (last business day of April). Failure to license your dog will result in a $50.00 non-criminal citation from the Animal Control Officer.
Kennel Licenses are required for all owners of Commercial Boarding, Training, Breeding, Veterinary Kennels and Domestic Charitable Corporation Kennels and private owners of more than 4 dogs. (See Dog Restraint and Regulations for fees) Under the provisions of Massachusetts General Law Chapter 140, Section 137A, no kennel license will be issued until the kennel has passed inspection by the Animal Control Officer. Complete the Application for Kennel Inspection and return to the Town Clerk or Assistant Town Clerk with correct fee and current rabies certificates.