Skip Navigation
Welcome to the official website for the town of Princeton, Massachusetts


This table is used for column layout.

Town Seal

Site  This Folder
 
 
Dog Licensing
State Law requires that all dogs in the Commonwealth over six (6) months of age be licensed annually. The deadline to license dogs in the Town of Princeton is the last business day (Thursday) of April. Licenses are valid for one calendar year. Dogs less than 6 months of age may be licensed as well if the owner so chooses.

New residents have 30 days to license after the move in date. If your dog is  currently licensed in another Massachusetts Town you may transfer that license (with proof) for a fee of $2.00. Please contact the Town Clerk for more information on transfer requirements.
 
Licensing requirements:
  • An up to date rabies vaccination certificate                                     
  • Spay/neuter certificate (if applicable)                                                                  
  • License Fee
  • License Application ( For new dogs only)
Licenses may be obtained in person at the Town Clerk’s office during normal business hours. You may license by mail as well. Send a check for the license fee made out to the “Town of Princeton”. Please include a stamped, self - addressed envelope, and the license will be returned to you as soon as possible.

LICENSE FEES (per dog
  • Male/Female (intact) - $15.00
  • Spayed/Neutered      - $10.00       
A late fee of $25/dog will be assessed in addition to the license fee after the April deadline. Failure to license your dog will result in a $50.00 non-criminal citation from the Animal Control Officer.
 

Dog Restraint and Regulations By Law                                                                        



 

Town of Princeton, 6 Town Hall Drive, Princeton, MA 01541